Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

Parent View - Give Ofsted your view on your child's school

Translate this page

For paper copies, Braille, large print or audio, please contact us.

Staff & Structure

Organisation of Teaching

Key Stages

Foundation Stage - Reception Year (ages 4 to 5)

Key Stage 1

        Year 1 [ages 5 to 6]

        Year 2 [ages 6 to 7]

Key Stage 2

        Year 3 [ages 7 to 8]

        Year 4 [ages 8 to 9]

        Year 5 [ages 9 to 10]

        Year 6 [ages 10 to 11]


The school is currently divided into 3 classes:

Class 1 [Reception, Years 1]

Class 2 [Years 2, 3 and 4]

Class 3 [Years 4, 5 and 6]


Staff Team

Our staff members work hard as a team to create a positive, caring and welcoming atmosphere where the children feel secure yet are challenged to achieve their best.  They endeavour to help each individual child achieve their full potential.

We currently have 75 children on role.


Members of Staff


Head Teacher : Mrs Janet Wardell

Class 1 (Reception and Year 1 ) : Mrs Helen Wilson & Mrs Ellie Bellfield

Class 2 (Years 2 and 3) : Mrs Catherine Naylor

Class 3 (Years 4, 5 and 6) : Mrs Sharna Fraser

Teaching Staff : Mrs Clare Schofield and Mrs Claire Bower

School Administrator : Mrs Denise Edmondson

Administrative Assistant : Mrs Debbie Thornton

Advanced Teaching Assistants : Mrs Rachel Jagger and Mrs Julie Hodgson

General Teaching Assistant : Ms Paula Carroll, Mrs Sarah Cooper, Miss Jayne Drysdale, Mrs Heather Drummond 

Mid-Day Supervisors : Ms Paula Carroll, Mrs Heather Drummond, Mrs Julie Hodgson and Miss Jayne Drysdale

Maintenance Technician : Mr Steve Edmondson

Resource Technician : Mrs Yvonne Spark


Staff employed by other contractors, working on behalf of the school:

Cleaner / caretaker : Miss Jayne Drysdale

Cook : Miss Heidi Hall

Catering Assistant : Miss Amy Smythe


Voluntary helpers : Mrs Ann Atterby (reading), Mrs Rachel Harrison, Mrs Becky Capstick (cookery skills club) and Mrs Hornsby (reading)


Note : A number of parents offer time as volunteer helpers and this is much appreciated.  We would be very pleased to hear from you if you would like to support the school in this way.



In January 2005 Sand Hutton and Warthill Primary Schools joined together to form a confederation. 

The two schools have the same Headteacher, Mrs. Janet Wardell, who divides her time equally between them. Since April 2013 the schools have become federated. This means that although the two schools are separate and unique in their own communities they now share one governing body and seek to collaborate for the benefit of children in both schools.

The staff work closely together to develop stimulating learning opportunities for the children and plan a variety of activities throughout the year.  Shared extra-curricular clubs, joint sports teams and shared music lessons are just some opportunities that are available.

The schools share a Modern Foreign Language specialist teacher, Mrs Elaine Liston, who teaches French to all the classes in both schools.  The PE/Games Coach also works across both schools.

In small village schools the Headteacher usually has a large class teaching commitment in addition to their vital leadership and management duties.  The federation agreement means that both schools now have a Headteacher who is able to focus solely on the vital leadership and management roles.

Our confederation was only the second to be set up in North Yorkshire but now several other groups of schools are working together in this way.  We view the arrangement as a very positive opportunity for our schools with significant advantages for children and staff as they work closely together.



Cookie Policy

This site uses cookies to store information on your computer.

Do you accept?